Apply for the 2017 Innovations in Reading Prize

The National Book Foundation's 2017 Innovations in Reading Prize will award $10,000 to an individual or organization that has developed an innovative project which creates and sustains a lifelong love of reading in the community they serve. In addition, the Foundation will recognize four projects, which will receive honorable mention.

Due to technical issues, the application deadline has been extended to Wednesday, March 1 at 11:59 p.m. (Pacific).

  1. > More

The National Book Foundation Commits to Helping Transform Public Housing Communities From “Book Deserts” to Book Rich Environments

Over a quarter of a million book donations have been secured.

Lisa Lucas at the Book Rich Environments Initiative LaunchThe Foundation has partnered with the U.S. Department of Education (ED), the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD), the Urban Library Council (ULC) and the Campaign for Grade Level Reading (CGLR) to launch the Book Rich Environment Initiative (BRE). The Foundation worked with publishers to secure book donations for the project and Penguin Random House, the world’s largest trade book publisher, is taking the lead, providing 200,000 books towards the initiative, in furtherance of its mission to nourish a universal passion for reading. Hachette Book Group and Macmillan Publishers have also committed to substantial donations.

  1. > More

Eat, Drink & Be Literary: Dinner & A Reading At BAMcafe, 2017

Eat, Drink & Be Literary 2017

Eat, Drink & Be Literary brings prominent contemporary authors to BAMcafé for intimate readings and engaging discussions. The 2017 line-up includes: Walter Mosley, Maggie Nelson, Jacqueline Woodson, Ben Lerner, Claudia Rankine, and Elif Batuman.

Tickets now on sale.

  1. > More

on tumblr:

Archeophonics, by Peter Gizzi

”One of the greatest gifts of being a writer, particularly a poet, is learning how to listen.”

– Peter Gizzi, author of ARCHEOPHONICS

> More

Follow Us:

NBF Supporters Link to Link to Penguin Random House Link to Coral Graphics Link to Link to Lindenmeyr Book Publishing Papers Link to Hachette Book Group National Endowment for the Arts NBF Supporters Link to the New York State Council on the Arts NBF Supporters Link to Levenger NBF Supporters NBF Supporters Bookspan

Copyright © 2007 National Book Foundation.