The National Book Foundation’s 5 Under 35, 2016

5 Under 35 Logo
The National Book Foundation has announced its 2016 5 Under 35 honorees. 5 Under 35, now in its eleventh year, honors five debut fiction writers under the age of 35 whose work promises to leave a lasting impression on the literary landscape. Each year, 5 Under 35 honorees are selected by National Book Award Winners and Finalists, as well as by writers previously recognized by the 5 Under 35 program.
The 2016 5 Under 35 honorees will be celebrated at an invitation-only ceremony on November 14, 2016. 5 Under 35 is sponsored by the Amazon Literary Partnership. Each honoree will receive a $1,000 prize.

The 2016 5 Under 35 Honorees Are:

2014 5 Under 35 Honorees

The 2016 5 Under 35 Selection committee:

Karen Bender’s short story collection Refund was a finalist for the National Book Award, shortlisted for the Frank O’Connor International Story Prize, and longlisted for the Story Prize. She is the author of the novels A Town of Empty Rooms and Like Normal People. Her fiction has appeared in The New Yorker, Granta, Zoetrope, PloughsharesStoryThe Harvard Review, The Iowa ReviewGuernica, and other magazines. Her stories have been anthologized in The Best American Short StoriesThe Best American Mystery Stories, and have won two Pushcart prizes.
Ta-Nehisi Coates won the 2015 National Book Award for Nonfiction for Between the World and Me. He is a National Correspondent for The Atlantic, the author of the memoir The Beautiful Struggle, and the writer for Marvel Comics’ Black Panther series. A MacArthur “Genius Grant” fellow, Coates has received the National Magazine Award, the Hillman Prize for Opinion and Analysis Journalism, and the George Polk Award for his  Atlantic cover story, “The Case for Reparations.”
Amity Gaige was recognized as a National Book Foundation 5 Under 35 honoree in 2006. She is the author of three novels, O My DarlingThe Folded World, and Schroder, which was shortlisted for The Folio Prize in 2014. Schroder was named one of Best Books of 2013 by Kirkus, The New York Times Book Review, The Huffington Post, The Washington PostThe Wall Street Journal, and Publisher’s Weekly, among others.  Gaige is the winner of a Fulbright Fellowship, a Guggenheim Fellowship, fellowships at the MacDowell and Yaddo colonies, and a Baltic Writing Residency.  Her short stories, essays, and reviews have appeared in publications such as the Literary Review, The GuardianThe New York TimesThe Yale ReviewOne Story, and elsewhere.
Lauren Groff’s Fates and Furies was a finalist in 2015 for the National Book Award for Fiction, the National Book Critics Circle Award, and the Kirkus Award. It won the 2015 American Booksellers’ Association Indies’ Choice Award for Fiction, was a New York Times Notable book and Bestseller,’s #1 book of 2015, and on over two dozen best-of 2015 lists. She is the author of the novels Monsters of Templeton, shortlisted for the Orange Prize for New Writers; Delicate Edible Birds, a collection of stories; and Arcadia, a New York Times Notable Book, winner of the Medici Book Club Prize, and finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Award.
Jacqueline Woodson’s Another Brooklyn is on the 2016 National Book Award Longlist for Fiction. She won the 2014 National Book Award for Young People’s Literature for her New York Times bestselling memoir Brown Girl Dreaming, which was also a recipient of the Coretta Scott King Award, a Newbery Honor Award, the NAACP Image Award, and the Sibert Honor Award. The Poetry Foundation recently named Woodson the Young People’s Poet Laureate. She is the author of more than two dozen award-winning books for young adults, middle graders, and children; among her many accolades, she is a four-time Newbery Honor winner, a three-time National Book Award Finalist, and a two-time Coretta Scott King Award winner.