June 2011 eNewsletter

National Book Awards, Over 60 Years of Honoring Great American Books
June 2011 eNewsletter

Attention, Publishers!

NBA Winner Medallion

The entry deadline for the 2011 National Book Awards is June 15, 2011. If you have a book you'd like to enter and have not yet received a copy of the guidelines and entry form, please send a request, including your company name and fax number, to Amy Gall at agall@nationalbook.org.


Please note that entry forms are not available for download or via email. The guidelines can be viewed on our website at www.nationalbook.org/nbaentry.html.


Mad. Sq. Reads Presents: Elizabeth Bishop's Letters to N.Y.

In celebration of the
Elizabeth Bishop centenary of the seminal American poet and National Book Award Winner Elizabeth Bishop, we are pleased to present a discussion of Bishop's life and legacy with poets Tina Chang and Vijay Seshadri, poet and editor Joelle Biele, and former New Yorker poetry editor Alice Quinn. The event, which is free and open to the public, will take place on Thursday, July 14 at 6:30pm at Madison Square Park in New York City. For more information, visit nationalbook.org/madsqparkreads.html.   

[Image: Elizabeth Bishop. Credit: Joseph Breitenbach]

ReadThis Donates Books "Wherever Needed"


Read This Book logoWe at the Foundation are proud to partner with ReadThis, an all-volunteer organization that facilitates book donations to public schools without libraries, troops overseas, hospital pediatric wards, homeless shelters, and others. We recently donated a collection of YA books through ReadThis to KAPPA V/MS 518, a 6th through 8th grade middle school in Brooklyn. Read a letter from KAPPA V humanities teacher Andrew L. Mills: www.nationalbook.org/2011_05_readthis.html


NBA Finalist Jill Abramson Named First Female Executive Editor of The New York Times

Jill Abramson and Jane Mayer

We would like to congratulate National Book Award Finalist Jill Abramson on becoming the first female Executive Editor of The New York Times. She will leave her current role as Managing Editor and replace current Executive Editor Bill Keller, who is stepping down from the position to be a full-time staff writer, on September 6. Abramson was a Nonfiction Finalist in 1994 for Strange Justice: The Selling of Clarence Thomas, which she co-wrote with New Yorker staff writer Jane Mayer. Read Abramson's contribution to our program, The Book That Changed My Life: www.nationalbook.org.


[Image: Jill Abramson and Jane Mayer at the 1994 National Book Awards. Credit: Robin Platzer/Twin Images]  

Eat, Drink & Be Literary Podcasts Now Available


BAM participating authors 2011Our 2011 season of Eat, Drink & Be Literary at the Brooklyn Academy of Music (BAM) has come to a close, but podcasts of the evenings with Elizabeth Strout, Edmund White, and Jennifer Egan are available on our website at www.nationalbook.org. Podcasts of the evenings with Ann Beattie, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, Colum McCann, Edward Albee, and Cristina García are coming soon.


NBA Backlist: Past Winners and Finalists


Look At Me, J. Egan

Fiction: Jennifer Egan was a Finalist in 2001 for Look at Me. Her most recent book, A Visit from the Goon Squad (2010), won the Pulitzer Prize, the National Book Critics Circle Award, and the L.A. Times Book Prize, and was a finalist for the PEN/Faulkner Award. Egan participated in the Foundation's 5 Under 35 program and selected novelist Asali Solomon as an honoree in 2007, and she served as a Judge on the National Book Awards Fiction panel in 2009. For more information about Egan, visit jenniferegan.com.

 Salvation on Sand Mountain, D. Covington

 Nonfiction: Dennis Covington was a Finalist in 1995 for Salvation on Sand Mountain: Snake Handling and Redemption in Southern Appalachia. His most recent book is Redneck Rivera: Armadillos, Outlaws, and the Demise of an American Dream (2004). In 2005, he served as a Judge on the National Book Awards Nonfiction panel. For more information about Covington, visit media.cla.auburn.edu.


The Fields of Praise, M. NelsonPoetry: Marilyn Nelson was a Finalist in 1997 for The Fields of Praise: New and Selected Poems, and again in 1991 for The Homeplace. In 2001, she was a Finalist in Young People's Literature for Carver: A Life in Poems. In 2008, she served as a Judge on the National Book Awards Poetry panel. Her most recent book, Snook Alone (2010), is written in free verse for young readers. For more information about Nelson, visit www.poets.org/poet.php/prmPID/97 .

 The Canning Season, P. Horvath

Young People's Literature: Polly Horvath was a Winner in 2003 for The Canning Season and a Finalist in 1999 for The Trolls. Her book, Everything on a Waffle (2001), was a Newbery Honor Book and a Boston Globe-Horn Book Award Honor Book. Her most recent book, Northward to the Moon, was published in 2010. For more information about Horvath, visit  www.pollyhorvath.com.

Important Dates

June 15

All National Book Award entry forms must be sent to NBF office

(postmark deadline)


July 14

Elizabeth Bishop's Letters
to N.Y.

Madison Square Park

New York, NY


August 1

All entered books must be received by NBA Judges and NBF office

(NOT a postmark deadline)


November 14

5 Under 35 Celebration of Young Fiction Writers

powerHouse Books

Brooklyn, NY


November 15

National Book Awards Teen Press Conference (morning)

New York Public Library

New York, NY


National Book Award Finalists Reading (evening)

The New School

New York, NY


November 16

2011 National Book Awards Ceremony and Benefit Dinner

Cipriani Wall Street

New York, NY


NBA Daily News


For up-to-date information on all things National Book Awards-related, visit our website daily at  www.nationalbook.org , "like" twitterus on Facebook, and join ourmore than 130,000 followers on Twitter!

List of Foundation's Donors as of Sept, 2010