Innovations in Reading Prize, 2015


Innovations in Reading Prize
Each year the National Book Foundation awards the Innovations in Reading Prize to an individual or organization that inspires readers and engages new audiences with literature.
This year, for the first time in Innovations history, we awarded one $10,000 prize to an organization whose work is VITAL, demonstrating vision, ingenuity, transformation, achievement & leadership. The $10,000 Winner of the 2015 Innovations in Reading Prize is Reach Incorporated, a Washington, D.C.-based non-profit that hires struggling teen readers as reading tutors for elementary school students. This year's Honorable Mentions are the African Poetry Book Fund, Call Me Ishmael, Lambda Literary, and Motionpoems.
Reach Incorporated develops grade-level readers and capable leaders by training teens to teach, creating academic growth for all involved. keep reading >
interview >


AFRICAN POETRY BOOK FUND is a multifaceted effort to engage and promote the poetic arts of Africa. keep reading >
interview >
CALL ME ISHMAEL invites readers to call Ishmael and leave anonymous voicemails about books they love. Ishmael then shares the most compelling messages on his site. keep reading >
interview >
LAMBDA LITERARY celebrates, nurtures, and promotes LGBTQ writers and readers alike. keep reading >
interview >
Motion Poems
MOTIONPOEMS broadens the audience for poetry by turning great contemporary poems into multimedia experiences. keep reading >
interview >
Thanks to the generosity of the Levenger Foundation, since 2007 the Innovations in Reading Prize has supported a diverse range of individuals and organizations working locally, nationally, and internationally to create and sustain a lifelong love of reading. Explore our infographic below to learn about the impact of our Winners, and discover more about past winners here.

2015 Innovations in Reading Infographic

View printable PDF version >