Presenter of the National Book Awards

National Book Awards - 2005



William T. Vollmann Europe Central (Viking)
> Read Speech
> Appreciations on Best of National Book Awards Fiction Blog


E.L. Doctorow, The March (Random House)
- “Contenders” Fiction Finalists Exhibition Page >

Mary Gaitskill, Veronica (Pantheon)
- “Contenders” Fiction Finalists Exhibition Page >

Christopher Sorrentino, Trance (Farrar, Straus and Giroux)
- “Contenders” Fiction Finalists Exhibition Page >

Renè Steinke, Holy Skirts (William Morrow)
- “Contenders” Fiction Finalists Exhibition Page >

Fiction judges:

Andre Dubus III (chair), Rikki Ducornet, Cristina Garcia, Tom LeClair, Anna Quindlen



Joan Didion , The Year of Magical Thinking (Alfred A. Knopf)
> Watch Speech


Alan Burdick, Out of Eden: An Odyssey of Ecological Invasion (Farrar, Straus & Giroux)
Leo Damrosch, Jean-Jacques Rousseau: Restless Genius (Houghton Mifflin)
Jim Dwyer and Kevin Flynn, 102 Minutes: The Untold Story of the Fight to Survive Inside the Twin Towers
(Times Books)
Adam Hochschild, Bury the Chains: Prophets and Rebels in the Fight to Free an Empire’s Slaves
(Houghton Mifflin)

Nonfiction judges:

Brenda Wineapple (chair), Mark Bowden, Dennis Covington, Dennis Covington, Tony Horwitz, Gregory Wolfe



W.S. Merwin, Migration: New and Selected Poems (Copper Canyon Press)
> Read His Acceptance Speech
> NBA Poetry Blog Essay and Archival Material for Merwin


John Ashbery, Where Shall I Wander (Ecco)
Frank Bidart, Star Dust: Poems (Farrar, Straus & Giroux)
Brendan Galvin, Habitat: New and Selected Poems, 1965-2005
(Louisiana State University Press)
Vern Rutsala, The Moment’s Equation (Ashland Poetry Press)

Poetry Judges:

Carl Phillips (chair), John Balaban, Carol Frost, Lawson Fusao Inada, Julie Kane



Jeanne Birdsall, The Penderwicks (Alfred A. Knopf)
> Watch Speech


Adele Griffin, Where I Want to Be (Putnam)
Chris Lynch, Inexcusable (Atheneum)
Walter Dean Myers
, Autobiography of My Dead Brother (HarperTempest)
Deborah Wiles, Each Little Bird That Sings (Harcourt)

Young People's Literature Judges:

Liz Rosenberg (chair), Mari Evans, Claudia Mills, Jim Murphy, Rita Williams-Garcia