2005 National Book Awards Finalist

Vern Rutsala

The Moment's Equation by Vern Rutsala Vern Rutsala

The Moment’s Equation

Ashland Poetry Press

Photo credit: Joan Rutsala

About the Book

Scintillating visions of life, home, work, and family expressed in accessible language through which the poet magnifies daily events into art.

About the Author

Vern Rutsala is the author of twelve collections of poetry, including The Window, Laments, The Journey Begins, and Little-Known Sports. Among the awards for his work are a Guggenheim Fellowship, two NEA grants, the Juniper Prize, an Oregon Book Award, two Carolyn Kizer Poetry Prizes, the Duncan Lawrie Prize, a Pushcart Prize, the Akron Poetry Prize, the Northwest Poetry Prize, and a Masters Fellowship from the Oregon Arts Commission.

Judges' Citation

The Moment’s Equation takes us through decades of America. There are evocative settings, memorable events; there are many roads to regard, many lives to consider. In this America, there are startling moments, keen equations, but there is always time for laughter, room for reflection. Each poem journeys to a destination. With a remarkable deftness and an unerring sense of direction, Vern Rutsala gets us there.

Suggested Link