link to email
2006 National Book Award Winner, Poetry
Share |

Nathaniel Mackey
Photo credit: Lorenzo Ciniglio
Nathaniel Mackey
Splay Anthem
New Directions

About the Book
Part antiphonal rant, part rhythmic whisper, Nathaniel Mackey’s new collection takes the reader to uncharted poetic spaces, forming the next installment of two ongoing serial poems Mackey has been writing for over twenty years: Song of the Andoumboulou and “Mu”.

About the Author
Nathaniel Mackey is a poet, literary critic, fiction writer, and journal editor whose eight books of poetry include Four for Trane, Septet for the End of Time, Outlantish, and Song of the Andoumboulou. His 1985 poetry book, Eroding Witness, was selected for publication in the National Poetry Series. He received a Whiting Writers’ Award in 1993 and was elected to the Board of Chancellors of the Academy of American Poets in 2001. He is also the author of an ongoing prose composition of which three volumes have been published and of two volumes of literary criticism, Paracritical Hings (2005) and Discrepant Engagement: Dissonance, Cross-Culturality, and Experimental Writing (1993). He is editor of the literary magazine Hambone and is a Professor of Literature at the University of California, Santa Cruz.

Suggested Links

Excerpt from Splay Anthem
Copyright Nathaniel Mackey. All rights reserved.

larger view   larger view   larger view



  • Four for Trane. Los Angeles: Golemics, 1978. Poetry
  • Septet for the End of Time. Santa Cruz: Boneset, 1983. Poetry.
  • Eroding Witness. Urbana and Chicago: University of Illinois Press, 1985. Poetry.
  • Bedouin Hornbook. Lexington: Callaloo Fiction Series, 1986. Prose. Volume one of From a Broken Bottle Traces of Perfume Still Emanate.
  • Outlantish. Tucson: Chax Press, 1982. Poetry.
  • Discrepant Engagement: Dissonance, Cross-Culturality and Experimental Writing. New York: Cambridge University Press, 1993.
  • Djobot Baghostus's Run. Los Angeles: Sun & Moon Press, 1993. Prose. Volume two of From a Broken Bottle Traces of Perfume Still Emanate.
  • School of Udhra. San Franscisco: City Lights Books, 1993. Poetry.
  • Song of the Andoumboulou: 18-20. Santa Cruz: Moving Parts Press, 1994. Poetry.
  • Whatsaid Serif. (Forthcoming) San Francisco: City Lights Books, 1998, Poetry.

Compact Disc Recording

  • Strick: Song of the Andoumboulou 16-25. Memphis: Spoken Engine Company, 1995. Poetry with musical accompaniment: Royal Hartigan, percussion; Hafez Modirzadeh, reeds and flutes.

Edited Volumes

  • Hambone, a literary magazine,
  • Moment's Notice: Jazz in Poetry and Prose. Minneapolis: Coffee House Press, 1993. Co-edited with Art Lange.
  • Guest Editor, Callaloo: A Journal of African-American and African Arts and Letters, 18, 1 (Winter 1995). Special issue on Wilson Harris.



Splay Anthem is currently available at your local library or or for sale through most major retailers, including:

Barnes &

Copyright © 2007 National Book Foundation. Privacy Policy