2015 National Book Awards

the 2015 National Book Awards Winners announced:

2015 National Book Awards Winners

The 2015 National Book Awards Ceremony

Live streaming video by Ustream
> Follow the evening on Twitter, #nbawards.


2015 NBA Fiction Finalists


Adam Johnson, Fortune Smiles: Stories (Random House)



2015 NBA Fiction Longlist

fiction JUDGES

Daniel Alarcón, Jeffery Renard Allen, Sarah Bagby, Laura Lippman, David L. Ulin



2014 NBA Fiction Finalists


Ta-Nehisi Coates, Between the World and Me (Spiegel & Grau/Penguin Random House)
- Interview >




2015 NBA Nonfiction Longlist

Nonfiction JUDGES

Diane Ackerman, Patricia Hill Collins, John D'Agata, Paul Holdengräber, Adrienne Mayor


2014 NBA Fiction Finalists


Robin Coste Lewis, Voyage of the Sable Venus (Alfred A. Knopf)
- Interview >



2015 NBA Poetry Finalists


Sherman Alexie, Willie Perdomo, Katha Pollitt, Tim Seibles, Jan Weissmiller


Young People's Literature

2015 NBA YL Longlist


Neal Shusterman, Challenger Deep (HarperCollins Children's Books)
- Interview >



2015 NBA YPL Longlist

Young People's Literature JUDGES

John Joseph Adams, Teri Lesesne, Laura McNeal, G. Neri, Eliot Schrefer


"What surprised you while writing your book?"

The Foundation conducted micro-interviews with the 2015 National Book Award Longlist honorees, asking, "In the process of writing your book, what did you discover, what, if anything, surprised you?" Here are some of their responses:



New Yorker Page-Turner

New York, NY (August 25, 2015) The National Book Foundation, presenter of the National Book Awards, will partner with The New Yorker to exclusively reveal this year’s National Book Awards Longlists, ten books each in the categories of Young People's Literature, Poetry, Nonfiction, and Fiction, selected by four panels of expert judges independent of the Foundation and The New Yorker.

“We are very pleased to be working with the National Book Foundation to highlight some of the best writing in America this year,” said New Yorker editor David Remnick. “Great writing is a hallmark of both institutions.”

The Longlist announcements will be revealed on newyorker.com:

Previous Longlist announcements were made in partnership with The Daily Beast and The New York Times.

The New Yorker and the National Book Awards are natural partners,” said the Foundation’s chairman, David Steinberger, CEO of Perseus Books Group. “This collaboration affords us a wonderful opportunity to acknowledge the long, fruitful relationship between New Yorker writers and the Awards.”

While this is the first time the National Book Awards and The New Yorker have formally partnered, there is a long history of New Yorker writers being recognized by the National Book Foundation. The past three Winners of the Award in Nonfiction, Katherine Boo, George Packer, and Evan Osnos, for example, are all known for their work in The New Yorker.

The National Book Award Finalists will be announced on October 14th; Winners will be announced at a gala dinner and ceremony in New York on November 18th. For more information on the Awards and a list of this year’s judges, visit www.nationalbook.org.

* * *

The National Book Foundation's mission is to celebrate the best of American literature, to expand its audience, and to enhance the cultural value of good writing in America. In addition to the National Book Awards, for which it is best known, the Foundation's programs include 5 Under 35, a celebration of emerging fiction writers selected by former National Book Award Finalists and Winners; the National Book Awards Teen Press Conference, an opportunity for New York City students to interview the current National Book Award Finalists in Young People's Literature; NBA on Campus, a partnership that brings National Book Award authors to colleges across the country; the Innovations in Reading Prize, awarded to individuals and institutions that have developed innovative means of creating and sustaining a lifelong love of reading; and BookUp, a writer-led, after-school reading program for middle-school students.

The National Book Award is one of the nation's most prestigious literary prizes and has a stellar record of identifying and rewarding quality writing. In 1950, William Carlos Williams was the first Winner in Poetry, the following year William Faulkner was honored in Fiction, and so on through the years.  Many previous Winners of the National Book Award are now firmly established in the canon of American literature, such as Sherman Alexie, Louise Erdrich, Jonathan Franzen, Denis Johnson, Joyce Carol Oates, and Adrienne Rich.

The New Yorker is a national weekly magazine that offers a signature mix of reporting and commentary on politics, foreign affairs, business, technology, popular culture, and the arts, along with humor, fiction, poetry, and cartoons. Founded in 1925, The New Yorker publishes the best writers of its time and has received more National Magazine Awards than any other magazine, for its groundbreaking reporting, authoritative analysis, and creative inspiration. The New Yorker takes readers beyond the weekly print magazine with the web, mobile, tablet, social media, and signature events.