2015 National Book Award Longlist, Young People's Literature

Ilyasah Shabazz, with Kekla Magoon

Bone Gap Ilyasah Shabazz Kekla Magoon
X: A Novel

Candlewick Press

ISBN: 978-0763669676


Malcolm Little's parents have always told him that he can achieve anything, but from what he can tell, that's a pack of lies--after all, his father's been murdered, his mother's been taken away, and his dreams of becoming a lawyer have gotten him laughed out of school. There's no point in trying, he figures, and lured by the nightlife of Boston and New York, he escapes into a world of fancy suits, jazz, girls, and reefer. But Malcolm's efforts to leave the past behind lead him into increasingly dangerous territory. Deep down, he knows that the freedom he's found is only an illusion--and that he can't run forever. X follows Malcolm from his childhood to his imprisonment for theft at age twenty, when he found the faith that would lead him to forge a new path and command a voice that still resonates today.

About the authors

Ilyasah Shabazz, third daughter of Malcolm X, is an activist, producer, motivational speaker, and author of the critically acclaimed Growing Up X and the picture book Malcolm Little: The Boy Who Grew Up to Become Malcolm X.She lives in Westchester County, New York.

Kekla Magoon is an award-winning author of many young adult novels, including The Rock and the River, for which she received the 2010 Coretta Scott King–John Steptoe Award for New Talent. Kekla Magoon lives in Vermont.


Ilyasah Shabazz

- ilyasahshabazz.com

- Twitter: @ilyasahShabazz

- Facebook: facebook.com/IlyasahxShabazz

Kekla Magoon

- keklamagoon.com

- Twitter: @keklamagoon

- Facebook: facebook.com/keklamagoon


- Amazon.com

- Barnes & Noble

- IndieBound.org

- iBooks

- WorldCat (Library catalog)