Discover the 5 Under 35 Honorees



In 2006, the National Book Foundation established the 5 Under 35 prize to recognize young, debut fiction writers whose work promised to leave a lasting impression on the literary landscape. 5 Under 35 has identified some of the most celebrated young writers working today. Previous honorees include Brit Bennett, Angela Flournoy, Phil Klay, Nam Le, Valeria Luiselli, C.E. Morgan, Téa Obreht, ZZ Packer, Karen Russell, Justin Torres, Claire Vaye Watkins, Tiphanie Yanique, and Charles Yu.

5 Under 35 Honorees are writers from around the world, under the age of 35, who have published their first and only book of fiction—either a short story collection or a novel—within the last five years. In addition to being recognized at an invite-only ceremony in November, the honorees are presented with a $1,000 prize. Championing young authors at the beginning of their careers is part of the Foundation’s efforts to celebrate books, promote inclusivity, and engage more readers. 

5 Under 35 Honorees are selected by authors previously recognized by the National Book Foundation—either by National Book Awards or 5 Under 35 itself. Selectors maintain confidentiality until the Honorees are announced in mid-September. As Honorees are selected at the discretion of the selection committee, publisher cannot nominate an honoree or submit a book for consideration.

Highlights from the 2018 5 Under 35 Celebration

Read more >



Ben Greenman
Ben Greenman
Natasha Lyonne
Natasha Lyonne

Natasha Lyonne welcoming remarks at the 2018 5 Under 35 Celebration

Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah at the 2018 5 Under 35 Celebration

Akwaeke Emezi at the 2018 5 Under 35 Celebration

Hannah Lillith Assadi at the 2018 5 Under 35 Celebration

Lydia Kiesling at the 2018 5 Under 35 Celebration

Moriel Rothman-Zecher at the 2018 5 Under 35 Celebration

2018 5 Under 35 Panel Discussion moderated by Ben Greenman

More information

Press Inquiries:  
Contact Mark Lee,

Bio Name

no content