Discover the 5 Under 35 Honorees



The 5 Under 35 program honors five young fiction writers selected by past National Book Award Winners and Finalists, or previous 5 Under 35 Honorees.

In 2006, the National Book Foundation established the 5 Under 35 prize to recognize young, debut fiction writers whose work promised to leave a lasting impression on the literary landscape. 5 Under 35 has identified some of the most celebrated young writers working today. Previous honorees include Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah, Brit Bennett, Akwaeke Emezi, Angela Flournoy, Phil Klay, Valeria Luiselli, C.E. Morgan, Téa Obreht, ZZ Packer, Karen Russell, Justin Torres, Bryan Washington, Claire Vaye Watkins, Tiphanie Yanique, and Charles Yu.

5 Under 35 Honorees are writers from around the world, under the age of 35, who have published their first and only book of fiction—either a short story collection or a novel—within the last five years. The honorees are recognized at a ceremony and presented with a $1,000 prize. Championing young authors at the beginning of their careers is part of the Foundation’s efforts to celebrate books, promote inclusivity, and engage more readers.

5 Under 35 Honorees are selected by authors previously recognized by the National Book Foundation—either by National Book Awards or 5 Under 35 itself. Selectors maintain confidentiality until the Honorees are announced. As Honorees are selected at the discretion of the selectors, publishers cannot nominate an honoree or submit a book for consideration.


The honorees will be celebrated at the 5 Under 35 Ceremony in New York City on Thursday, May 25, 2023. For the first time, the event will be open to the public, and is presented in partnership with the Brooklyn Museum. Tickets are available for purchase at the Museum’s website.



Wajahat Ali
Wajahat Ali

2023 5 Under 35 Celebration logo
2023 5 Under 35 Ceremony

More information

PRESS INQUIRIES: Ale Romero, or (212) 685-0261 ext. 104


Bio Name

no content