The Americans: The Colonial Experience

Finalist, National Book Awards 1959 for Nonfiction

cover of The Americans by Daniel Boorstin
ISBN 9780394415062
Random House
photo of Daniel J Boorstin
Daniel J. Boorstin

Daniel J. Boorstin was the author of The Americans, a trilogy (The Colonial Experience, The National Experience, and The Democratic Experience) that won the Francis Parkman Prize, the Bancroft Prize, and the Pulitzer Prize. In 1989, he received the National Book Foundation's Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters for his lifetime contribution to literature. More about this author >

Award Years

Award Status

Award Categories

Winner of the Bancroft Prize
In this brilliantly original book, written for the general reader, the American past becomes richly meaningful to the present.