The Bride of Innisfallen

Finalist, National Book Awards 1956 for Fiction

cover of The Bride of Innisfallen by Eudora Welty
ISBN 9780891905158
Amereon Limited
photo of Eudora Welty at the National Book Awards in 1992
Eudora Welty

One of America’s most admired authors, Eudora Welty was born in Jackson, Mississippi in 1909. She was educated locally and at Mississippi State College for Women, the University of Wisconsin, and the Columbia University Graduate School of Business. She is the author of, among many other books, One Writer’s Beginnings, The Robber Bridegroom, Delta Wedding, The Ponder Heart, Losing Battles, and The Optimist’s Daughter which won the Pulitzer Prize in 1973. She died in 2001. More about this author >

Award Years

Award Status

Award Categories

Collection of short stories by Eudora Welty, published in 1955. The seven stories, focused largely on female characters, elaborate upon tenuous relationships of the heart in a difficult world and upon the importance of place; they share a more experimental, allusive style than the rest of her work.