The Passage of Power: The Years of Lyndon Johnson, Volume 4

Finalist, National Book Awards 2012 for Nonfiction

Nonfiction_Caro_The Passage of Power
ISBN 9780679405078
photo of Robert Caro in 2012
Robert A. Caro

Robert Caro is the author of The Power Broker: Robert Moses and the Fall of New York and The Years of Lyndon Johnson biographies. The biographies include National Book Award Finalists The Path to Power (1982) and The Passage of Power (2012), and National Book Award Winner Master of the Senate (2002). More about this author >

Award Years

Award Status

Award Categories

The fourth installment in Robert Caro’s monumental work on President Lyndon Johnson, The Passage of Power follows Johnson through both the most frustrating and the most triumphant periods of his career: 1958 to 1964. For the first time, we see the Kennedy assassination through Johnson’s eyes. We watch Johnson step into the presidency, inheriting a staff fiercely loyal to his slain predecessor, a Congress determined to retain its power over the executive branch, and a nation in shock and mourning. This is not only the story of how he surmounted unprecedented obstacles in order to fulfill the highest purpose of the presidency but is also a revelation of what can be accomplished when the chief executive has the vision and determination to move beyond the pragmatic and initiate programs designed to transform a nation.

Judges Citation

Robert Caro has come to define literary mastery. Through meticulous and nearly microscopic reporting, he reveals how power intersects with personality to create the texture of American political life. His storytelling is lyrical and vivid. His voice is exquisitely intimate and at the same time as authoritative and imposing as his subjects.  His portrait of Lyndon Johnson is the great American story.