The Rest of Love

Finalist, National Book Awards 2004 for Poetry

The Rest of Love by Carl Phillips, book cover 2004
ISBN 9780374249533
Farrar, Straus & Giroux
carl phillips author photo
Carl Phillips

Carl Phillips is the author of twelve books of poetry, including Silverchest (2013) and Double Shadow (2011), which won the Los Angeles Times Book Prize. Other books include Quiver of Arrows: Selected Poems 1986-2006, a translation of Sophocles’s Philoctetes (2004), and Coin of the Realm: Essays on the Life and Art of Poetry (2004). More about this author >

Award Years

Award Status

Award Categories

In “The Rest of Love,” his seventh book, Carl Phillips examines the conflict between belief and disbelief, and our will to believe: Aren’t we always trying, Phillips asks, to contain or to stave off facing up to, even briefly, the hard truths we’re nevertheless attracted to?