december, 2020

02dec3:00 pmLiterature for Justice: A Path Forward3:00 pm ET

Event Details


Albert Woodfox
Kelly Lytle Hernández. Photo credit: Sebastian Hernández
Sarah Haley. Photo credit: Alyssa Bierce
Ruth Wilson Gilmore. Photo credit: Amaal Said
Nicole R. Fleetwood. Photo credit: Bayeté Ross Smith
Dionne Brand. Photo credit: Jason Chow

The National Book Foundation launches the third and final year of Literature for Justice, a nationwide, book-based campaign that presents an annual reading list to further investigate the carceral system and urge readers forward. The event will feature this year’s selected authors—Dionne Brand (Ossuaries), Nicole R. Fleetwood (Marking Time: Art in the Age of Mass Incarceration), Ruth Wilson Gilmore (Golden Gulag: Prisons, Surplus, Crisis and Opposition in Globalizing California), Sarah Haley (No Mercy Here: Gender, Punishment, and the Making of Jim Crow Modernity), Kelly Lytle Hernández (City of Inmates: Conquest, Rebellion, and the Rise of Human Caging in Los Angeles, 1771-1965), and Albert Woodfox (Solitary)—and committee members Susan Burton, Natalie Diaz, Eddie S. Glaude Jr., and Piper Kerman in conversation. Presented in partnership with Free Minds Book Club & Writing Workshop and Public Welfare Foundation.

Naomi Murakawa


Moderated by Naomi Murakawa, author of The First Civil Right: How Liberals Built Prison America.


Watch the event here.

Supported by the Art for Justice Fund, a sponsored project of the Rockefeller Philanthropy Advisors, in partnership with the Ford Foundation.


(Wednesday) 3:00 pm ET