Anelise Chen

Honoree, 2019 5 Under 35

Anelise Chen is the author of So Many Olympic Exertions (Kaya Press 2017), an experimental novel that blends elements of sportswriting, memoir, and self-help.
More about this author >

Full Honors

About the book

So Many Olympic Exertions

ISBN 9781885030351 Kaya Press

A deep examination of life’s epic and daily moments, So Many Olympic Exertions puts a spin on the auto-fiction trend in the vein of Sheila Heti and Ben Lerner to examine what counts as meaningful in the field of our lives. More about this book >

  • HONOREE 5 Under 35 2019 >

    Selected by Dana Spiotta >

Full Bio

Anelise Chen

Anelise Chen is the author of So Many Olympic Exertions (Kaya Press 2017), an experimental novel that blends elements of sportswriting, memoir, and self-help. She hails from Temple City, California, and received a BA in English from University of California Berkeley and an MFA in Fiction from New York University. Her essays and reviews have appeared in The New York Times, NPR, BOMB Magazine, The New Republic, VICE, Village Voice, and many other publications. She has received fellowships from the Asian American Writers’ Workshop, the Helene Wurlitzer Foundation, and the Akademie Schloss Solitude in Stuttgart, Germany. She currently teaches writing at Columbia University and writes a column on mollusks for The Paris Review.

Back to top

Judge Name

no content

X