Don DeLillo

Finalist, 1988 National Book Awards
Winner, 1985 National Book Awards
Finalist, 1997 National Book Awards

Don DeLillo is the author of fifteen novels and a novella, including the National Book Award Winner White Noise; two National Book Award Finalists, Libra and Underworld, and the PEN/Faulkner Award-winning Mao II. In addition to his novels, DeLillo has published a collection of short stories, several plays, and a screenplay. He has received many honors, including the Library of Congress’s Prize for American Fiction and the Carl Sandburg Literary Award.
More about this author >

Full Honors

About the book


cover of Libra by Don Delillo
ISBN 9780140156041 Viking
About the book

White Noise

photo of White Noise by Don DeLillo
ISBN 9780143129554 Penguin Classics / Viking
About the book


Underworld by Don Delillo book cover
ISBN 9780684848150 Scribner

i>Underworld is about the second half of the twentieth century in America and about two people, an artist and an executive, whose lives intertwine in New York in the fifties and again in the nineties. More about this book >

Full Bio

Don DeLillo

Born in 1936, Don DeLillo grew up in The Bronx and graduated from Fordham University. He wrote his first work of fiction while working as an advertising copywriter and published his first novel, Americana, in 1971. Since then he has produced fourteen novels, one novella, five plays, and many stories and essays. In 1985, DeLillo’s eighth novel, White Noise, won a National Book Award. In 1988 his novel Libra was selected as a National Book Award Finalist and received the first Irish Times International Fiction Prize. His novel Underworld was selected as both a National Book Award and Pulitzer Prize Finalist and received the William Dean Howells Medal from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, given for the best novel published in the previous five years; in 2006 Underworld was placed number two on the New York Times’s list of “The Best Books of the Last 25 Years,” (after Toni Morrison’s Beloved). DeLillo’s novel Mao II received the 1992 PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction and was a Pulitzer Prize Finalist. His short story collection, The Angel Esmeralda, was a Finalist for both the 2012 PEN/Faulkner Award and the 2011 Story Prize.

DeLillo’s plays have premiered in London, Chicago, and Massachusetts. His novel Libra was adapted for the stage and directed by John Malkovich at the Steppenwolf Theater. Steppenwolf also commissioned “The Word for Snow” for the Chicago Humanities Festival.

Among DeLillo’s other awards and honors are the 1999 Jerusalem Prize, the international literary prize awarded to a writer whose work expresses the theme of the freedom of the individual in society, the first American to be so honored. In 2010, he received the PEN/Saul Bellow Prize for Achievement in American Fiction and in 2012 the Chicago Public Library’s Carl Sandburg Literary Award, both for lifetime achievement.

DeLillo lives in Westchester County, New York.

Back to top

Judge Name

no content