Megan Kruse

Honoree, 2015 5 Under 35

Megan Kruse grew up in the rural Pacific Northwest. She studied creative writing at Oberlin College and earned her MFA at the University of Montana. Her work has appeared widely in journals and anthologies, and she recently completed residencies at the Kimmel-Harding-Nelson Center for the Arts in Nebraska and the New York Mills Regional Cultural Center in Minnesota.
More about this author >

Full Honors

About the book

Call Me Home

Call Me Home cover
ISBN 9780990437000 Hawthorne Books

Call Me Home has an epic scope in the tradition of Louise Erdrich’s The Plague of Doves or Marilynne Robinson’s Housekeeping and braids the stories of a family in three distinct voices: Amy, who leaves her Texas home at 19 to start a new life with a man she barely knows, and her two children, Jackson and Lydia, who are rocked by their parents’ abusive relationship. More about this book >

  • HONOREE 5 Under 35 2015 >

    Selected by Phil Klay >

Get This BOOK

media


Megan Kruse reads at the 2015 5 Under 35 Celebration


Q&A with the 2015 NBF 5 Under 35 Honorees

Full Bio

Megan Kruse

Megan Kruse grew up in the rural Pacific Northwest. She studied creative writing at Oberlin College and earned her MFA at the University of Montana. Her work has appeared widely in journals and anthologies, and she recently completed residencies at the Kimmel-Harding-Nelson Center for the Arts in Nebraska and the New York Mills Regional Cultural Center in Minnesota. She is the 2015-2016 Visiting Writer-in-Residence at Eastern Oregon University’s Low-Residency MFA program. She currently lives in Seattle. Call Me Home is her first novel.

Back to top

Judge Name

no content

X