Oliver de la Paz

Longlist, 2023 National Book Awards

Oliver de la Paz is the author of six poetry collections, including The Boy in the Labyrinth, a finalist for the Massachusetts Book Award.
More about this author >

Full Honors

About the book

The Diaspora Sonnets

book cover for Oliver de la Plaza's The Diaspora Sonnets
ISBN 9781324092988 Liveright / W. W. Norton & Company

For fans of Diane Seuss and Victoria Chang, a coruscating collection that eloquently invokes the perseverance and myth of the Filipino diaspora in America. In 1972, after Ferdinand Marcos declared martial law, Oliver de la Paz’s father, in a last fit of desperation to leave the Philippines, threw his papers at an immigration clerk, hoping to get them stamped. More about this book >

Full Bio

Oliver de la Paz

Oliver de la Paz is the author of six poetry collections, including The Boy in the Labyrinth, a finalist for the Massachusetts Book Award. A recipient of a National Endowment for the Arts Fellowship, he teaches at the College of the Holy Cross and is the 2023-2025 Poet Laureate of Worcester, Massachusetts.

(Photo credit: Meredith C. Pugh)

Back to top

Judge Name

no content

Top
X