Submissions Open for the 2023 National Book Awards

March 2023



Twenty-five judges in five categories will review submitted titles and select the five Winners of the 74th National Book Awards

The National Book Foundation today announced the opening of submissions for the 74th National Book Awards. The Foundation also announced its 25 judges for this year’s Awards, in the categories of Fiction, Nonfiction, Poetry, Translated Literature, and Young People’s Literature.

“The judging panels for the National Book Awards are comprised of 25 literary community members deeply committed to celebrating the very best literature. We are so grateful to this group of voracious readers—who are about to embark on the reading journey of a lifetime,” said Ruth Dickey, Executive Director of the National Book Foundation. “Their dedication to the written word will have a lasting impact on writers, readers, and the global literary landscape in 2023 and beyond.”

This year’s judges include writers, editors, booksellers, academics, critics, directors of educational research centers, and translators from across the country. Panelists include a National Book Award Winner, Finalists, and Longlisted authors; a Pulitzer Prize winner; a Singapore Literature Prize winner; a Lambda Literary LGBTQ Nonfiction Award winner; a National Translation Award in Poetry winner; an Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Nonfiction winner; a Los Angeles Times Book Prize winner; a Coretta Scott King-Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement recipient; and fellowship recipients from the Guggenheim Foundation, Lannan Foundation, and National Endowment for the Arts.

The judges for the 2023 National Book Awards will select 50 Longlist titles, 10 per category, which will be announced mid-September, and 25 Finalists, to be announced on Tuesday, October 3. Winners in all five categories will be announced at the 74th National Book Awards on Wednesday, November 15, 2023.

Fiction panel: Steph Cha, Calvin Crosby, Silas House, Mat Johnson (Chair), Helena María Viramontes

Nonfiction panel: Hanif Abdurraqib, Ada Ferrer (Chair), James Fugate, Sarah Schulman, Sonia Shah

Poetry panel: Rick Barot, Heid E. Erdrich (Chair), Jonathan Farmer, Raina J. León, Solmaz Sharif

Translated Literature panel: Geoffrey Brock, Arthur Malcolm Dixon, Cristina Rodriguez, T. Denean Sharpley-Whiting, Jeremy Tiang (Chair)

Young People’s Literature panel: Sarah Park Dahlen, Kyle Lukoff, Claudette S. McLinn (Chair), justin a. reynolds, Sabaa Tahir