Submissions Open for the 2024 National Book Awards

March 2024



Twenty-five judges in five categories will review submitted titles and select the five Winners of the 75th National Book Awards

The National Book Foundation announced the opening of submissions for the 75th National Book Awards. The Foundation also announced its 25 judges for this year’s Awards, in the categories of Fiction, Nonfiction, Poetry, Translated Literature, and Young People’s Literature.

“It is an honor to present the esteemed judges for this year’s National Book Awards, as we embark upon our celebration of 75 years,” said Ruth Dickey, Executive Director of the National Book Foundation. “This year’s five judging panels bring together 25 readers who share a profound passion for exceptional storytelling, and a deep commitment to celebrating excellent literature. We eagerly await the 50 books that these expert panelists will recognize in this momentous anniversary year, knowing they will enrich the lives of readers and writers everywhere, and have a lasting impact on the global literary community.”

This year’s judges include writers, editors, publishers, booksellers, academics, critics, and translators from across the country. Among the panelists are several National Book Award Finalists; authors and translators honored by the Pulitzer Prize, the International Booker Prize, the Pushcart Prize, the Whiting Award, the National Book Critics Circle Award; and fellowship recipients from the Academy of American Poets, Guggenheim Foundation, MacArthur, MacDowell, and the National Endowment for the Arts.

The complete list of deadlines and guidelines—including the expanded eligibility criteria for the National Book Awards for Fiction, Nonfiction, Poetry, and Young People’s Literature that take effect today—can be found on the Foundation’s website.

The judges for the 2024 National Book Awards will select 50 Longlist titles, 10 per category, to be announced mid-September, and 25 Finalists, to be announced on Tuesday, October 1, 2024. Winners in all five categories will be announced at the 75th National Book Awards on Wednesday, November 20, 2024.

Fiction panel: Jamie Ford, Lauren Groff (Chair), Zeyn Joukhadar, Chawa Magaña, Reginald McKnight

Nonfiction panel: Brenda J. Child, Anand Giridharadas, Tressie McMillan Cottom (Chair), Timothy Morton, Arvin Ramgoolam

Poetry panel: Richard Blanco (Chair), Carolyn Forché, Tyehimba Jess, Aimee Nezhukumatathil, Rena Priest

Translated Literature panel: Aron Aji, Jennifer Croft, Jhumpa Lahiri (Chair), Gary Lovely, Julia Sanches

Young People’s Literature panel: Rose Brock, Huda Fahmy, Leah Johnson, Mike Jung, Brein Lopez (Chair)