The Echo Maker

Winner, National Book Awards 2006 for Fiction

The Echo Maker by Richard Powers book cover, 2006
ISBN 9780374146351
Farrar, Straus & Giroux
Richard Powers

Richard Powers has published thirteen novels including Orfeo; Plowing the Dark; Operation Wandering Soul, a National Book Award Finalist; The Echo Maker, winner of the National Book Award; and The Overstory, winner of the Pulitzer Prize. (Photo credit: Dean D. Dixon) More about this author >

Award Years

Award Status

Award Categories

Set in Nebraska during the Platte River’s massive spring migrations, this novel explores the power and limits of human intelligence.